Coffee Shop Girl

csg
My coffee shop girl from
behind the counter where
she smiles from the tiles
where I step in and berate
myself for seeming imperfect,
for walking out of rhythm,
for smiling too much,
for smiling too little,
for frowning or saying hi
in a way that reveals I’m shy,
for feigning confidence clumsily
and being seen through like the
clear glass of water she sips from
behind the counter yet
every failure is only the fuel I consume
to boost me into victory
like a shot of espresso with
sugar settling in the middle
and so tomorrow I’ll present to you
the better me.

– Lennie Bezwik

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About bezwik

Lennie Bezwik is an English poet and lyricist who lives in Spain. Before getting into poetry, Bezwik was part of the London based UK Hip Hop scene, writing songs, producing tracks and performing live rap. Over the last few years, Bezwik has done a lot of travelling, drinking and writing. Nowadays, he sneaks off to dingy little Spanish bars at night and writes poems in his notebook. His biggest inspirations are homelessness, unemployment, booze, love and being dreamy.

Leave a Reply

