Average Goddess

spring
Loving you in spring is
different,
perhaps better than
loving you in winter,

the daffodils are
out flaunting their
fresh yellow figures
and pale white petals

are whispering the
promise of summer,
loving you in spring is
warmer but still sickening,

still weakening,
leaving me lying in bed
and dreaming and trying
not to imagine you

and rolling around
the covers,
now only a lighter sheet
and waking up

to morning skies that
are blue and clear,
skies that I’ve missed
like I always miss you

the day after seeing you,
loving you in spring
is like sipping
a swanky cocktail,

I know it’s poisonous but
it feels rich
and even better in this
gentle sun even

though I’m paying a high price
and I’m guilty for doing this,
not being strong enough
to get on with my everyday life,

instead I’m distracted by
loving you
like I did in the winter,
I’m foolish for loving you,

this probably average lady
who seems like a goddess
to this fool that I am
for loving you in spring.

– Lennie Bezwik

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About bezwik

Lennie Bezwik is an English poet and lyricist who lives in Spain. Before getting into poetry, Bezwik was part of the London based UK Hip Hop scene, writing songs, producing tracks and performing live rap. Over the last few years, Bezwik has done a lot of travelling, drinking and writing. Nowadays, he sneaks off to dingy little Spanish bars at night and writes poems in his notebook. His biggest inspirations are homelessness, unemployment, booze, love and being dreamy.

2 responses to “Average Goddess”

  1. crimsonribbonsoceaneyes says :

    I must say, this is an absolutely beautiful piece. I could see the raw emotion involved as I read it and I adored it. Very talented poet.

Leave a Reply

