When I Met You

lifeandlove
When I met you
on that golden tipsy
afternoon in June,
I had to test my acting skills,
how strong how confident how manly
and intelligent can I appear to be
and how much so can I smother the
weak and sensitive and clumsy child
within who slips up when distracted
by your charm,
who doesn’t think straight
cos his mind is blurred by dreamy
visions of you?
play it cool I urge myself,
the calm and smooth and composed tone
of voice is contradicted by the heart inside
that’s beating fast and
panic seething in my gut,
she’s too good for
me,
she’s too good
for me,
she’s too
good for me,
if my looks and manner can’t impress,
maybe I can use some wit
but even then,
this beauty’s too clever,
even her humour’s better,
I’m running out of ammo,
preparing to surrender,
the war was already over
before it had even begun,
when I met you
on that golden tipsy
afternoon in June,
when I met you then and knew
of a looming battle I’m due to lose,
I could never be stronger,
wiser or more beautiful than
you
so what could you possibly see in
me?
I’ve nothing to offer but this heart,
already bruised,
already scarred,
a war already over,
a treasure impossible to capture,
a defeated general not tough enough
to conquer what he must,
now resorting back to the bottle
on a cloudy tipsy evening in a
never-ending November.

– Lennie Bezwik

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About bezwik

Lennie Bezwik is an English poet and lyricist who lives in Spain. Before getting into poetry, Bezwik was part of the London based UK Hip Hop scene, writing songs, producing tracks and performing live rap. Over the last few years, Bezwik has done a lot of travelling, drinking and writing. Nowadays, he sneaks off to dingy little Spanish bars at night and writes poems in his notebook. His biggest inspirations are homelessness, unemployment, booze, love and being dreamy.

2 responses to “When I Met You”

  1. oddobed says :

    Beautiful……..

  2. Professor VJ Duke says :

    Nice…. Have you been to the PL?

Leave a Reply

