Under The Same Star

space-2011-03-01-space-station-sun-zoom
All under the same star,
tomorrow morning
the two of us
will rise
and rub our eyes
from either side
of a pale green stream
flowing over cold grey stones
under a baby blue blanket
in a timeless European town
surrounded by mountain peaks,
all under the same star,
I shower in hot water,
your bathroom fills with steam,
I reach for my towel,
you dry your body,
I brush my teeth,
you spit water into the sink,
I put on jeans,
you check your skirt
and slender figure in the mirror,
I take a piss,
you comb your hair,
I’m out the flat,
you’re drawing
black pencil lines around
your eyes,
all under the same star,
I’m thinking of you,
you’re leaving your flat,
I’m walking to work,
you’re thinking of me,
I haven’t seen you this week,
you haven’t called,
I haven’t emailed,
you’re waiting on me,
I’m resisting your absence,
all under the same star,
you’re sweet you’re confident
you’re patient,
I’m impulsive I’m erratic
I’m struggling,
working hard to stay afloat
upon the calm seas of
your world
where all dangers are deep
down below
what meets the eye
but my love is
stronger than fear
and I want you here
with me
under the same star
when it rises and
when it falls.

– Lennie Bezwik

Tags: , , , ,

About bezwik

Lennie Bezwik is an English poet and lyricist who lives in Spain. Before getting into poetry, Bezwik was part of the London based UK Hip Hop scene, writing songs, producing tracks and performing live rap. Over the last few years, Bezwik has done a lot of travelling, drinking and writing. Nowadays, he sneaks off to dingy little Spanish bars at night and writes poems in his notebook. His biggest inspirations are homelessness, unemployment, booze, love and being dreamy.

Leave a Reply

