Sipping Tea Like Me

tea
Rain falling in the dark night as I
sit inside watching steam rise from
the hot tea,
winter’s most underappreciated
warm liquid love,
and I sip that warmth that addictive
bitterness,
that dark golden water glow from
green leaves of china,
my best friend in winter who I love
at night,
who I love when it’s raining and cold
outside the window here beside me,
and I think of you girl,
across those rooftops and over the
river and under the stars,
sipping tea like me as we await longer
days and blankets of daylight and
earlier sunrises and bright blue skies
and crickets buzzing in the nights and
little lizards running out from under
rocks in the scorching afternoons,
we miss the summer as much as they
and when the summer arrives,
it’s you I crave,
the girl who stole my heart in autumn
and occupied my mind throughout the
winter who will only be cemented in
my heart by spring as the young flowers
start coming of age and innocent colours
gently reveal themselves in the parks and
on the trees
and when the summer arrives,
I wonder now,
will you and I be someplace by the sea?
I take your hand as we stroll across sand
and kiss you softly how you want to be
kissed and hold you with these arms
of mine that feel just right when
tightly wrapped around your waste,
the lazy tide slowly flowing in and
erasing our footprints as I tell you that
I love you
and I wanna spend more seasons
loving you,
like I love this moment in dreamy summer,
white petals in early spring,
blood-red leaves in autumn and the sipping
of hot tea on a cold and solitary night in
dark winter,
loving you
like I do now.

– Lennie Bezwik

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About bezwik

Lennie Bezwik is an English poet and lyricist who lives in Spain. Before getting into poetry, Bezwik was part of the London based UK Hip Hop scene, writing songs, producing tracks and performing live rap. Over the last few years, Bezwik has done a lot of travelling, drinking and writing. Nowadays, he sneaks off to dingy little Spanish bars at night and writes poems in his notebook. His biggest inspirations are homelessness, unemployment, booze, love and being dreamy.

One response to “Sipping Tea Like Me”

  1. Tiffany Coffman says :

    Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

