I Can’t Say It

autumn
In an ideal world,
the rain would only
fall when we’re beneath
the shelter,
you and me,
or when we
crave its freshness,
you and me,
its damp aroma as it
rises from the soaked
orange autumn leaves
but never would
the rainfall soak
you and me
uninvited,
in an ideal world,
the sun would never leave
you and me
in the dark and drift afar in
lonely winters,
the clouds would never
cast darkness over
you and me
any season,
I’d make the moon ascend
for you
like raising the volume
on a stereo
but never allowing
your song to fade out,
I would tell you
in an ideal world,
I would tell you that I
feel this ache,
this thing,
this piercing blade,
this drug,
this liquid burn that
fills my gut,
this thing that
in an ideal world,
this thing you’ve surely seen
or felt,
you feel It when I look at you,
you see it in my crafted moves,
my pulling out chairs,
my smiles my stares,
my constant urge to
be with you,
this thing that
in an ideal world
wouldn’t be so hidden
or overdue,
I crave more moments of
you and me,
the truth at hand
concealed by
glove,
not today but
one day
I’ll say it,
and then
you’ll know
all I meant
was love.

– Lennie Bezwik

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About bezwik

Lennie Bezwik is an English poet and lyricist who lives in Spain. Before getting into poetry, Bezwik was part of the London based UK Hip Hop scene, writing songs, producing tracks and performing live rap. Over the last few years, Bezwik has done a lot of travelling, drinking and writing. Nowadays, he sneaks off to dingy little Spanish bars at night and writes poems in his notebook. His biggest inspirations are homelessness, unemployment, booze, love and being dreamy.

Leave a Reply

