Perfect Strokes

sunrise_over_mediterranean_sea
What I wouldn’t give
to have
twenty four seven access
to your smile
your laughter sweet as
spring your conversation
your dreams your love
your fears
in all your
bold yet softly spoken
words,
lucky me
for knowing you,
unlucky me
for loving you,
in luck
when I’m close to you and
feel that something’s there
between us,
out of luck
when I’m away from
you and miss your
every essence,
what I wouldn’t give
to awake with you
over sunrises of the
calm and glittering seas of
southern Europe,
your skin glowing in the
golden rays that gently land
upon your shaded body
through a gap in the blinds,
your eyes opening just
after mine,
you rolling closer
over to me,
my arms taking you,
my lips telling you what
you already know as I
press them honestly onto
the side of you face,
what I wouldn’t give
to spend each day
further penetrating
your mind
and helping you to
stand strong
when you feel you’re gonna
fall weak,
to read more chapters of
the story of your life you
share with me in
random order
but more and more I see
the emerging picture,
perfect strokes of
water-colour like
Van Gogh’s flowers,
you’re unsure
of the many textures on
the canvas
but I’m in love
with all I see,
the woman
you are,
the woman
you were,
the woman
you came to be.

– Lennie Bezwik

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About bezwik

Lennie Bezwik is an English poet and lyricist who lives in Spain. Before getting into poetry, Bezwik was part of the London based UK Hip Hop scene, writing songs, producing tracks and performing live rap. Over the last few years, Bezwik has done a lot of travelling, drinking and writing. Nowadays, he sneaks off to dingy little Spanish bars at night and writes poems in his notebook. His biggest inspirations are homelessness, unemployment, booze, love and being dreamy.

One response to “Perfect Strokes”

  1. formyfrog says :

    Lovely.

Leave a Reply

