Mind On Guard

door ajar
every day that
I see you and
leave with empty
arms and cold
hands and untouched
lips is another day I
miss my chance to
do as my heart is
telling me.
instead I let my
mind stay on guard,
like bouncers at
the nightclub
turning away my
feelings from the
entrance door of
our reality,
protecting me from
luvdrunkennes that
leads to all pleasures and
troubles and sometimes
suffering but somehow
those feelings will
sneak their way in,
perhaps through the
unguarded exit doors
often slightly ajar and
once they’re in it’s
anything goes,
you can love me
or leave me,
we’ll share joy
or misery,
you’ll be frightened
or flattered,
we’ll be happy
together
or estranged from
one another.

– Lennie Bezwik

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About bezwik

Lennie Bezwik is an English poet and lyricist who lives in Spain. Before getting into poetry, Bezwik was part of the London based UK Hip Hop scene, writing songs, producing tracks and performing live rap. Over the last few years, Bezwik has done a lot of travelling, drinking and writing. Nowadays, he sneaks off to dingy little Spanish bars at night and writes poems in his notebook. His biggest inspirations are homelessness, unemployment, booze, love and being dreamy.

One response to “Mind On Guard”

  1. irisoniris says :

    Absolutely enjoyed it. The flow was impeccable and the witty-tough imagery carried it through. There is a wisdom paired with vulnerability. Amazing. That heart of yours does need to be just a leeeettle bit more in charge…see where that takes you. 😉 At the very least you will be more inspired. And the lyricism you spin deserves to be written, all the time.

Leave a Reply

