Dreamy Stroll

leonid-tishkov-01
Late at night
I walk alone
past the places where
we spent time together.

imagining your shape,
dark hair, dark laughter,
my heart grieves
in your absence

and although
I try my hardest
I just can’t be
any stronger.

What have I become?
So weak and self-loathing,
lonesome yet glowing
with vanity over the prospect
of you being interested
in me,

once a fine soldier,
I’ve fallen wounded by
those bullets of your
flirtatiousness

and there you are smiling
and playing with your hair
while I pretend
not to be wounded

and dream of gently
pressing my lips
against yours and buzzing
in all the sweetness of it.

– Lennie Bezwik

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About bezwik

Lennie Bezwik is an English poet and lyricist who lives in Spain. Before getting into poetry, Bezwik was part of the London based UK Hip Hop scene, writing songs, producing tracks and performing live rap. Over the last few years, Bezwik has done a lot of travelling, drinking and writing. Nowadays, he sneaks off to dingy little Spanish bars at night and writes poems in his notebook. His biggest inspirations are homelessness, unemployment, booze, love and being dreamy.

One response to “Dreamy Stroll”

  1. slpmartin says :

    Love seems to have that effect on folks…enjoyed the write.

Leave a Reply

