Your Beautiful Poison

poisonous_love
That poison sinking into me,
that good stuff that does me no good,
worse than drugs and alcohol
cos love’s far harder to turn off,

I know it’s mad cos I keep thinking
I see you from across the road,
every little thing somehow turns out
to be a reminder of you,

what’s worse I can’t even eat right
cos your poison has
burned away my appetite,
I’m not thinking right and back to
drinking wine throughout the starry night,
asking guardian angels to hand me back
my sanity and strength,

my head is well aware of this
love struck suicidal naivety
but I can’t escape from it
emotionally,
every single thing you do
ends up provoking me to further seek
the love that I’m denied by circumstance,

to be holding hands and holding you
tight throughout the winter’s icy nights
would be enough for me,
anything a little higher than this
hellish heavenly concoction of
starry-eyed purgatory,
your beautiful poison
that’s burning me internally.

– Lennie Bezwik

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About bezwik

Lennie Bezwik is an English poet and lyricist who lives in Spain. Before getting into poetry, Bezwik was part of the London based UK Hip Hop scene, writing songs, producing tracks and performing live rap. Over the last few years, Bezwik has done a lot of travelling, drinking and writing. Nowadays, he sneaks off to dingy little Spanish bars at night and writes poems in his notebook. His biggest inspirations are homelessness, unemployment, booze, love and being dreamy.

One response to “Your Beautiful Poison”

  1. slpmartin says :

    Oh..my old mind just immediately to the old Coaster’s song Poison Ivy ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZRfRITVdz4k ) …love seems to have always made men seem to have an illness.

Leave a Reply

