A Hunter Like Me

Lone_Warrior
and I said to young Jamal,
you can do it
but you’ll have to be a hunter,
a hunter like me.

The difference between me
and them is this;
they sat at the table,
they waited and talked
and smiled and chilled,
all comfy all cosy,
and dinner was served to them
on a shiny plate
with silver cutlery
in an atmosphere that’s luxury to us,
and young Jamal listened

but the difference with me,
I told him, is this;
I was left out on my own
in the woods with no food,
so I had to be a hunter,
it was tiring and frightening
and exhausting and painful
but I had to do it,
chasing the wild boar,
running from the wild cats,
thinking hard to make new tools,
building my shelter and staying alert,
pursuing my prey and aiming with precision,
piercing the beast with the spear in my hand,
hearing the squeals and seeing the blood
and bringing back meat to survive on
and chew on and tasting it with more pride
and pleasure than ever
cos I know that I’m a hunter

and the statues at the tables,
wining and dining,
I’ve finally met and they look at me
like I’m a savage, a threat,
and yes I’m fully dressed,
and yes I’m fully fed,
and somehow they assume I’m one of them
but with a heart of lead
and the mind of a serpent
but they haven’t got a clue
about how I got clothed
and how I got fed
and how I survived only by fighting,
instead they’re confused and threatened
by the outsider

so even these days,
I’m still on my own
and I tell you this Jamal
cos you don’t have to starve
for the rest of your life,
you can eat and live better
but they aint gonna let you
join their table,
you’ve gotta go hunt,

cos you can be hunter
and set yourself free,
yeah you can be a hunter,
a hunter like me.

– Lennie Bezwik

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About bezwik

Lennie Bezwik is an English poet and lyricist who lives in Spain. Before getting into poetry, Bezwik was part of the London based UK Hip Hop scene, writing songs, producing tracks and performing live rap. Over the last few years, Bezwik has done a lot of travelling, drinking and writing. Nowadays, he sneaks off to dingy little Spanish bars at night and writes poems in his notebook. His biggest inspirations are homelessness, unemployment, booze, love and being dreamy.

Leave a Reply

